2016 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships (Msc) For Developing Countries To Study In UK

2016 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships (Msc) For Developing Countries To Study In UK

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the CSC in partnership with UK universities.

‣ These Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are intended for students from developing countries who would not otherwise be able to afford to undertake Master’s level study in the UK, to gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their home countries.

School(Institutions/ Country): List of participating universities and eligible courses UK

Sponsored Links

Level: Masters Degree Program

Field(s): Scholarships are awarded to study subjects related to the development of their home country at participating UK universities only

Deadline:  1 April 2016

Funded By: Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC) in partnership with UK universities.

Beneficiaries(Target Groups):  Commonwealth Shared Scholarships is targated for Open for International StudentsStudents of developing Commonwealth countries (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn  Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Seychelles, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe) can apply for these Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.

‣ In 2015-2016, over 70 UK universities are jointly funding Shared Scholarships with the CSC. The CSC extends its thanks to these host
universities; while the scheme is managed by the CSC, its success depends critically on their support.


Have what it takes to avail  Commonwealth Shared Scholarships ?

To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must:

‣ Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons

‣ Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country;

‣ Be available to commence their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2015;

‣ Hold, by October 2015, a first degree of at least upper second class Honours standard;

‣ Not have undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country;

‣ Be unable themselves, or through their families, to pay to study in the UK;

‣ The Commission wishes to promote equal opportunity, gender equity and cultural exchange. Applications are encouraged from a diverse range of candidates.

Selection Criteria:

‣ Candidates are recruited and selected by UK host universities in the first instance. Selection criteria include: the academic merit of the candidate, as well as the likely impact of their work on the development of their home country.

Notification for  Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

‣ Host UK universities must forward details of their selected candidates to the CSC by 1 April 2016 . Universities will inform candidates of their results by July 2015.

Scholarship Application Method

Online Application

‣ All applications must be made through your host UK university.

‣ You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date.

‣ All Commonwealth Shared Scholarship candidates must be selected and put forward to the CSC by their host UK university, and must submit their application to the CSC using Electronic Application System (EAS).

‣ Candidates must apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship using one of two methods, as instructed by the university:

  • Via university: Applying to the university in the first instance using the university’s own application form. If selected, candidates will then be asked to submit an application to the CSC using the EAS. Any applications made via the EAS only and not directly to the university first will not be considered.
  • EAS only: Applying to both the university and the CSC at the same time using the EAS. Each university has its own closing date for applications. Any applications received after this date will be deemed ineligible.

‣ Scholarship Application Due Date: The EAS will close to applicants on 1 April 2016 and no further applications can be submitted after that date. Candidates should note that most university closing dates fall before 1 April and you must submit your application by the date advised by the university to which you are applying.

‣ Application forms and guidelines can be download from the official website

‣ It is important to read the application procedure, and visit the official websites (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

For more Information about Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Government of Poland Scholarships 2017/2018 for Young Africans to study in Poland

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.